Please Sign Petition → SAIL Medical College at Rourkela & Upgrading IGH to Super Speciality Hospital
Upcoming Events

Do you think Hemanand Biswal can bring ESIC MC&H to RKL ?
View Results
December 2022

Police Department

Since the formation of Sundargarh District in January 1948 the entire district was under one Police District with a Superintendent of Police as its authority until 31 May 1962. But after the establishment of a Public Sector undertaking at Rourkela and increase in population , the Police district another police district was formed exclusively for Rourkela and its adjacent area as Rourkela Police District on 1 June 1962. Since then two Police District have been operating in entire Sundargarh District. Later for better administration a DIG of Police, Western Range is posted at Rourkela who is to look into the affairs of Rourkela, Sundargah and Keonjhar Police District . Currently this office has also been upgraded to IG of Police.

Later keeping on view of the geographical shape and Maoists’ menace in the district the State Govt. decided to restructure both the police districts and in result ten police stations of Sundargarh Police District come under Rourkela Police District. Similarly two Police Out Posts under Rourkela Police District i.e Jhirpani and Chhend are upgraded to full fledged Police Stations in 2009.

Important Police Positions – Rourkela
Position Phone No.
Superintedent of Police , Rourkela 0661-2500020
Addnal. Superintedent of Police , Rourkela 0661-2500027
Deputy Superintedent of Police , Rourkela 0661-2501008
DIB 0661-2500134
RO 0661-2501003
Police Stations – Rourkela
Police Station Phone No.
Bisra 0661-2612132
Brahamani tarang 0661-2660054
Chhend 0661-2507616
Jolda OP 0661-2560602
Jhirpani 0661-2476569
Lathikata PS 0661-2616233
Plantsite 0661-2501475
Sector-3 0661-2646227
Sector-7 0661-2640100
Sector-15 0661-2646673
Sector-19 0661-2646798
Uditnagar 0661-2507851
Mahila PS 0661-2647800
Raghunath Pali 0661-2500481
Traffic OP-I 0661-2600609
Traffic OP-II
Police Stations – Greater Rourkela
Police Station Phone No.
Bonai 06626-244435
SDPO, Bonai 06626-244447
Tangarpali 0661-2560621
Bondamunda 0661-2530832
Lahunipada 06625-232249
Koida 06625-235023
K.Bolang 06625-233018
Tikayatpali 06626-245157

Other than the police establishments, the Armed Police Reserve ( APR) Home Guard , Railway Police , Central Industrial Security Force ( CISF) , Central Reserve Police Force ( CRPF), State Vigilance , Central Bureau of Intelligence etc. units are at Rourkela.

Armed Police Reserve

To meet emergencies and to tackle the law and order problem in need , contingents of armed police are stationed at Rourkela and Sundargarh ( District Head Quarter) .Each unit has one Reserve Inspector with number of sergeants , Sub inspectors and other staffs. The Rourkela unit is stationed near Government ITI , Rourkela . This establishment has fully occupied with residential colony, schools, dispensary etc.

Home Guard

Under the stewardship of Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) the Home Guard organization is set up at Rourkela. This consists of number of guards to assist the regular activity of Police. The head Quarter for Rourkela Home Guards is located at Sector – 3, Rourkela near Rourkela College .

Traffic Police.

The services of the Traffic Police are utilized at Rourkela Township is the first instance in the District of Sundargarh. The Traffic Police of Rourkela is headed by an Inspector with number of sub-inspectors, Habildars, Constables etc. The Head Office of Rourkela Traffic police is located at Traffic Tower near the entrance point of Steel Township adjacent to IG Park. The traffic posts are located at different central places of the city.

Railway Police

The only Railway Police station in the District is at Rourkela with a jurisdiction from Jareikela Railway Station to Sonakhan Railway station of Howrah – Mumbai main line of South Eastern Railway. The Railway police of Rourkela is headed by a Superintendent of Police called as Railway S.P. only of its kind at the District Sundargarh. The Head office of the Railway Police is located at Railway Colony, Rourkela.


Under the Superintendent of Police, Vigilance, Sambalpur Division the Deputy Superintendent of Police, Vigilance, Rourkela is operative. The office of the DSP, Vigilance is located at Industrial Estate fo Rourkela near Government ITI. Other than this there is an office of State Intelligence at Sector-17 & Central Vigilance Sector – 18, Rourkela.

Central Industrial Security Force

To look after the security of Rourkela Steel Plant and its establishments a battalion of CISF is stationed at Rourkela. Though the cops are directly under the supervision of the Commandant, but one DIG is also posted here. To assist the Commandant Deputy Commandant a number of inspectors along with number of other staffs the unit is functioning here. The main office of the CISF is at inside the Rourkela Steel Plant and a branch office is at Sector – 5 , Rourkela Steel Township.

Central Reserve Police Force

With the increase of insurgency activity particularly by Maoists the Home Department of the Government of India established the 19th Battalion of CRPF at Rourkela with the Head Quarter at Sector – 5 trainees Hostel with the leadership of Commandant and Deputy Commandant. The GoI is planning to setup a full fledged CRPF Battalion Campus near Rourkela at Bisra.

Back to Top
Join us at
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Myspace
  • Digg