Please Sign Petition → SAIL Medical College at Rourkela & Upgrading IGH to Super Speciality Hospital
Upcoming Events

Do you think Hemanand Biswal can bring ESIC MC&H to RKL ?
View Results
December 2022

Time Line – Along the years

Year Important Events
1918 Railway Line through Present Day Rourkela Established on Goilkera – Jharsuguda Station under the then BNR Railway and now under Chakradharpur Division of South Estaern Railway .
1926 Rourkela Railway Station became Railway Junction after the opening of Rourkela – Biramitrapur Railway Line.
1931 Old Rourkela station area termed as urban area by the Census
1945 Establishment of Panposh as Sub-division Head Quarter under the then Nagara State.
1948 Sundergarh District craved out of Sambalpur District on 1st January
1952 Declaration of Estbalishment of Public Sector Inregrated Steel Plant at Roukela by Central Government after signing of MOU with Krups and Demag Company of West German, for the establishment of Integrated Steel Plant at Rourkela ( Later becomes SAIL , RSP ) .
1954 Hindustan Steel Limited (HSL) formed for managing Rourkela Steel Plant
1955 Land Acqusition for Rourkela Steel Plant ad Steel Township started
1955 Establishment of Notified Area Coucil (NAC) for Rourkela
1957 Contruction work for Rourkela Steel Plant started.
1958 First Coke oven battery lighted at Rourkela
1959 First Blast Furnance innaugurated by the then President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad at Rourkela Steel Plant on 3rd February 1959. With this prodution process , Rourkela Steel Plant started operating officially. Blooming and Slabbing Mill Commisioned at Rourkela.
1960 PlateMill and ERW Pipe Plant Commissioned at Rourkela Steel Plant
1961 Hot Srip Mill Commissioned at Rourkela . Establishment of Regional Engineering College ( REC , currently known as NIT ) at Rourkela , the second Engg. College of Odisha.
1962 Fertiliser Plant Commissioned at Rourkela Special Police District for Rourkela Estbalished with SP as head.
1963 Establishment of Notified Ara Council ( Steel Township) for Rourkela Steel Plant Township
1967 Expansion of Blast Furnance IV commissioned at Rourkela
1967 Rourkela became separate Bidhan Sabha Constituency (for MLA position)
1976 Establishment of Rourkela Regional Imrovement Trust ( RRIT ) for the development of Rourkela .
1982 Ispat Doordarshan Kendra setup by Roukela Steel Plant
1995 Declartion of Rourkela Steel Tonwship area as Industrial Township and abolition of NAC(ST) . Formation of Rourkela Development Authority ( RDA ) by abolition of Rourkela Regional Imrovement Trust. F.M. Radio Station at Rourkela inaugurated as 9th Radio Station and 3rd FM Station of Odisha.
Back to Top
Join us at
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Myspace
  • Digg