Please Sign Petition → SAIL Medical College at Rourkela & Upgrading IGH to Super Speciality Hospital
Upcoming Events

Do you think Hemanand Biswal can bring ESIC MC&H to RKL ?
View Results
December 2022

RDA – Rourkela Dev. Authority

The Orissa Town Planning and Improvement Trust Act, 1956 was extended over NAC (Civil Township) Area, Rourkela with effect from 1.1.1961. During 1964 the Special Planning Authority, Rourkela was Constituted where the Zone Officer-cum-Asst. Town Planner functioned as Special Planning Authority which continued till 25.1.1976.The Rourkela Regional Improvement Trust was constituted on 26.1.1976 with its jurisdiction over Master Plan Areas of Rourkela Civil Township, Rajgangpur,Biramitrapur and Sundargarh.

The Rourkela Development Authority was constituted with effect from 2.10.1995 with its jurisdiction over Development Areas of Rourkela Civil Township, Rourkela Industrial Complex,Rajgangpur,Biramitrapur and Sundargarh.

RDA Management Board
Authority Position at RDA
Minister of State Urban Development, Orissa Chairman
Collector, Sundargarh Vice-Chairman
Executrive Engineer, P.H. Division, Rourkela Engineer Member(Part time)
Assistant Town Planner Planning Member
Secretary, RDA Finance & Accountsember
Deputy Architect, Orissa Architect Member(Part time)
Commissioner-Cum-Secretary,HUD,Orissa Ex-officio Member
Chairman, Rourkela Municipality -do-
Chairman, Sundargarh Municipality -do-
Chairman, Rajgangpur Municipality -do-
Chairman, Biramitrapur Municipality -do-

The following are the Development Areas (Master Plan Areas) coming under the jurisdiction of RDA.

  • Rourkela Civil Township
  • Rourkela Industrial Complex (Comprising Steel Township, Jalda,jagda & Lathikata)
  • Rajgangpur Town
  • Sundargarh Town
  • Biramitrapur Town.

The Master Plan of Rourkela Civil Township has been prepared during 1966 and basing on which the development control is regulated by RDA within the master plan area of Rourkela.

Subsequently the Master Plan area of Rourkela Civil Township has been expanded from the existing boundary by addition of 52 RTU’s and 52 revenue villages to the existing master plan boundary including Jagda, Jalda, Lathikata, Kalunga, Chikatamati, Kuarmunda etc. to be renamed as “Rourkela Industrial Complex”.

The Comprehensive Development Plan of the newly formed Rourkela Industrial Complex is under preparation.

Back to Top
Join us at
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • Myspace
  • Digg